Skip To Main Content

School Board Appoints Budget Committee Members

School Board Appoints Budget Committee Members
Allison McGowan

At its January 8, 2024 meeting, the Springfield Public Schools Board of Directors appointed four new members to the budget committee. Budget committee members volunteer their time and serve a three-year term. 

Elaine Doornbus, John Svoboda, Hollea Puzio and Heather Quaas-Annsa join Nancy Cameron and the School Board Directors on the budget committee. The group will meet up to six times throughout the winter and spring months to evaluate the proposed budget for the coming school year.

The Superintendent presents the proposed budget in May for consideration by the budget committee which reviews the budget proposal to ensure the District is fiscally responsible in allocating resources that are in line with District goals. It examines the proposed budget, listens to community comments, and then approves the budget and property tax rates. The budget is then forwarded to the school board for adoption. 

Budget committee meetings are open to the public. Budget committee meeting dates, agendas and minutes can be found on the budget committee page of the District website.